Pazzo Futsal LOTG

Posted: April 14, 2015 by thirdblindmouse in Futsal
Tags: , , , , , ,

DID YOU KNOW that in Futsal, there is an instance where you can have possession of the ball, infringe the laws of the game and still be awarded an indirect free kick?  Sounds crazy?  Can’t believe it???  Well….IT’S TRUE!!!

We all know that there are instances in the LOTG where the laws can seem quite contradictory, and sometimes even a little strange.  This couldn’t be further from the truth, especially when discussing FUTSAL LOTG.  In an attempt to brush up on my FLOTG knowledge before a major national invitational tournament, I started reading my law book from cover to cover, just to be sure that I was clear on the subtle nuances of the sport that I’ve grown quite fond of over the last few years.  Especially since I’ve fairly new to the sport and don’t pretend to be an expert by any means, I felt I needed to at least look over the laws and make sure I wasn’t missing anything, nor misunderstanding/misinterpreting something.  Well low and behold…I WAS!

Scenario 1:

Red vs. Blue
While Red has the ball and is attacking, a Blue substitution happens incorrectly and Blue is now playing with an extra player (#10).
Since Red has the ball, you play advantage.
The extra player (Blue #10) runs up to the Red player with the ball, inside the Blue PA, and punches the Red player.
Decision and restart???
Naturally, you would stop play, Send off the Blue player for VC and restart with a PK awarded to the Red team.  Blue plays short for 2 minutes.
However, according to Futsal LOTG – this is INCORRECT!!!!
The correct and STUPID answer is Stop play, Send off Blue #10 for VC (Blue plays short for 2 mintues) however, you restart play with an IDFK to the RED team, regardless of the fact that a penal offence was committed inside the Blue PA!
FLOTG 2014-15, Interpretation pg. 83/84, Substitutes bullet point 9
“Substitutes
 
If a substitute enters the pitch by infringing the substitution procedure or
causes his team to be playing with an extra player, the referees, assisted by the
assistant referees, must adhere to the following guidelines: 
 
• If they apply the advantage and the substitute’s team plays with an extra
player, and this player commits an infringement punishable by a direct free
kick or penalty kick, they sanction this player’s team with an indirect free kick
from the position of the ball when play was stopped (see Law 13 – Position
of free kick). If necessary, they also take the disciplinary action corresponding
to the infringement committed”
 
 
HOW ON EARTH DOES THAT MAKE ANY SENSE???????
It’s because in this scenario, the person committing the foul is still a substitute, since the player he is supposed to replace hasn’t left the pitch yet.  
put this in an outdoor context – what happens if a sub enters the FOP and does the same thing…restart with an IDFK, not PK.

Sports Futsal animated GIF

 

Now, for the answer to the crazy instance mentioned at the very beginning of this post…

Scenario 2:

Red vs. Blue
While Red has the ball and is attacking, a Blue substitution happens incorrectly.
Since Red has the ball, you play advantage.
The Red player with the ball hold onto his opponents shirt and commits a holding offence.
Decision and restart????
Naturally, you would stop play, possibly caution the Red player for USB and restart with a DFK awarded to the Blue team.
However, according to Futsal LOTG – this is INCORRECT!!!!
The correct answer is, Stop play, possibly caution the Red player for USB however, you restart play with an IDFK to the RED team!
FLOTG 2014-15, Interpretation pg. 83/84, Substitutes bullet point 6
“Substitutes
 
If a substitute enters the pitch by infringing the substitution procedure or
causes his team to be playing with an extra player, the referees, assisted by the
assistant referees, must adhere to the following guidelines: 
 
• If they apply the advantage and stop play because the opposing team
commits an infringement or because the ball leaves the pitch, they must
restart play with an indirect free kick to the opponents of the substitute’s
team from the position of the ball when play was stopped (see Law 13 –
Position of free kick). If necessary, they also take the disciplinary action
corresponding to the infringement committed by the opponents of the
substitute’s team”
CRAZY, RIGHT???
Basically, you have the ball, commit a foul, get cautioned for it, but your team still gets to take an IDFK!
Now here’s the interesting question…what if the offence that was committed by the Red player is a penal offence, accumulates a foul, and is now their 6+ accumulated foul?
Leave your thoughts in the comments below.
Happy Whistling!
Third Blind Mouse
PS. Pazzo is Italian for CRAZY!
Advertisements

Opinion???

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s