#WorldCup Brazil 2014 Final Predictions!

Posted: July 11, 2014 by thirdblindmouse in World Cup 2014
Tags: , , , ,


I guess you’re all thinking that this is going to be a post about my predictions for this years WC Champion.  Will it be Germany, or will it be Argentina?  Well…you’re wrong!!!  I’m going to give you my thoughts on who I think will be the ultimate winner and referee the final!!!

I’m not going to give you my take on performances throughout the tournament, and I’m not going to comment on the flaws, blunders and mistakes made in the past 62 matches.  What I’m going to base my selections on is purely logical and deductive reasoning (or I could just be way off).

So, let’s begin:

Question 1 – Who has already done quarter and semi final games?
The Quarter Final referees were:
Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP) 
Néstor Pitana (ARG) (sent home after QF)
Nicola Rizzoli (ITA)
Ravshan Irmatov (UZB)
Semi Finals:
Marco Rodríguez (MEX)
Cüneyt Çakır (TUR)
Consolation Final:
will be Djamel Haimoudi (ALG)
Question 2 – Who has Busacca decided to keep???  (strikethrough have done Quarter, Semi, and Consolation matches)
Staying in Brazil:
1. Ravshan Irmatov (UZB) – Abduxamidullo Rasulov (UZB), Bakhadyr Kochkarov (KGZ)
2. Yuichi Nishimura (JPN) – Toru Sagara (JPN), Toshiyuki Nagi (JPN)

Staying in Brazil:
1. Noumandiez Doue (CIV) – Songuifolo Yeo (CIV), Jean-Claude Birumushahu (BDI)
2. Djamel Haimoudi (ALG) – Rédouane Achik (MAR), Abdelhak Etchiali (ALG)

Staying in Brazil:
1. Mark Geiger (USA) – Sean Mark Hurd (USA), Joe Fletcher (CAN)
2. Marco Rodríguez (MEX) – Marvin Torrentera (MEX), Marcos Quintero (MEX)

Staying in Brazil:
1. Enrique Osses (CHI) – Carlos Alexis Astroza (CHI), Sergio Román (CHI)
2. Sandro Ricci (BRA) – Emerson De Carvalho (BRA), Marcelo van Gasse (BRA)
3. Carlos Vera (ECU) – Christian Lescano (ECU), Byron Romero (ECU)

Staying in Brazil:
No body!

Staying in Brazil:
1. Cüneyt Çakır (TUR) – Bahattin Duran (TUR), Tarik Ongun (TUR)
2. Jonas Eriksson (SWE) – Mathias Klasenius (SWE), Daniel Wärnmark (SWE)
3. Pedro Proença (POR) – Bertino Miranda (POR), Tiago Trigo (POR)
4. Nicola Rizzoli (ITA) – Renato Faverani (ITA), Andrea Stefani (ITA)
5. Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP) – Roberto Alonso Fernández (ESP), Juan Yuste Jiménez (ESP)
6. Howard Webb (ENG) – Michael Mullarkey (ENG), Darren Cann (ENG)
Seeing that Nishimura did the opener, it’s possible that he will do the final however, I don’t think that’s going to happen.
It would be AMAZING if Geiger got the final (then fellow Canadian Joe Fletcher would be AR2 for the final), but I don’t think that will happen either.
He was used as 4th in the Brazil-Germany semi final.
What’s interesting is that Busacca hasn’t used a South American referee yet and I’m wondering if (since the final is being held in Brazil, and they are NOT in the final) they will give the final to Sandro Ricci!
Webb won’t get a second go!  (I love this pic…someone needs to come up with a meme for it…l’arbitre?)
So, from who is left, and from the top referee’s that haven’t done a match since the round of 16, my top 2 picks are as follows…
Sandro Ricci (BRA)
Pedro Proença (POR)
We shall soon see if I’m correct…decision comes out today at 3pm Brazil time!
Happy Whistling!
The Third Blind Mouse
PS.  I’m picking Germany to win the final! 😉
  1. larbitre says:

    What happened to Italian national pride? Or Portuguese? Up in flames? 😛

  2. What do you mean??? Proença!!!!
    I don’t think Rizzoli will get it.

  3. The votes are in…and I’m way off….looks like I don’t know what I’m talking about! lmao!
    Rizzoli it is!!!


Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s