IDFK and DOGSO??? Whaaaaaaaaaat?!?!?!

Posted: February 11, 2014 by thirdblindmouse in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Whether we are watching football matches on TV or sitting in on a referee education session, most of the time when DOGSO is the topic of conversation, the clips and examples that are shown are almost always scenarios where the offending player has committed a penal offence, and where the resulting restart is either a DFK or PK.  I haven’t seen any instances or examples of a DOGSO scenario where the restart is an IDFK….until now! 

(Click the “watch on vimeo” box to see the clip)

The situation – Yellow 4 plays in a dangerous manner which denies an obvious goal scoring opportunity.

The solution according to FIFA‘s official interpretation is as follows:

“Playing in a dangerous manner is defined as any action that, while
trying to play the ball, threatens injury to someone (including the player
himself). It is committed with an opponent nearby and prevents the opponent
from playing the ball for fear of injury.

A scissors or bicycle kick is permissible provided that, in the opinion of the
referee, it is not dangerous to an opponent.

Playing in a dangerous manner involves no physical contact between the
players. If there is physical contact, the action becomes an offence punishable
with a direct free kick or penalty kick. In the case of physical contact, the
referee should carefully consider the high probability that misconduct has also
been committed.”  (FIFA LOTG 2013/14 – Interpretations pp. 121)

The LOTG Interpretations goes further to state that…

“If a player denies an obvious goal scoring opportunity by playing in a
dangerous manner, the referee should send off the player”  (FIFA LOTG 2013/14 – Interpretations pp. 121)

Law 12 – Fouls and Misconduct also state:

“A player, substitute or substituted player is sent off if he commits any of the
following seven offences:

• serious foul play
• violent conduct
• spitting at an opponent or any other person
• denying the opposing team a goal or an obvious goalscoring opportunity
by deliberately handling the ball (this does not apply to a goalkeeper within
his own penalty area)
• denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity to an opponent moving
towards the player’s goal by an offence punishable by a free kick or a
penalty kick
• using offensive, insulting or abusive language and/or gestures
• receiving a second caution in the same match”  (FIFA LOTG 2013/14 – pp. 39)

What’s worth noting here is that the LOTG do NOT specify the type if free kick which means that a DOGSO offence can occur regardless of whether the foul committed was a technical or penal offence.  To illustrate that point, the LOTG go further to point out that  “the offence which denies an opponent an obvious goalscoring opportunity may be an offence that incurs a direct free kick or an indirect free kick.”  (FIFA LOTG 2013/14 – Interpretations pp. 130)

So, in simple terms here is the course of action:

1) Referee blows the whistle and stops play.

2) Yellow 4 is penalized for playing in a dangerous manner.

3) Yellow 4 is dismissed and shown a red card for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity (DOGSO-F).

4) Play is restarted with an Indirect Free Kick (IDFK) awarded to the Red team.

5) The kick is taken in accordance with the special circumstances of Law 13 – “an indirect free kick awarded inside the goal area must be taken on the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the infringement occurred”  (FIFA LOTG 2013/14 – pp. 41)

This is probably my favourite DOGSO clips because it’s very rare that we see a DOGSO send off, and an IDFK restart!  Fantastic!!!

Happy Whistling!

The Third Blind Mouse

Advertisements
Comments
  1. I was shown this one late last week when I put together a discussion about the sanctions for hanging from the crossbar and playing the ball… Oddly, the official FIFA quiz sent to their high level referees and the various associations has a question with an answer that seems to contradict the above situation as it applies to hanging from the crossbar. Very confusing mess.

    The whole discussion is here if you’re interested in following my logic through to its (apparently) illogical end:
    http://fifalotg.blogspot.ca/2014/02/football-201314-law-12-hanging-off.html

Opinion???

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s